Membership application form

History Prizes

History Council of SA History Awards

Beginning in 2012 the History Council of SA began recognising South Australian Historians through four awards.  The awards recognise individuals for outstanding research and scholarship and acknowledge their broader contribution through teaching, leadership, mentoring and community involvement.   

Click here for more information.

SA Heritage  Heroes Awards

The South Australian Heritage Council, in partnership with the Department of Environment and Natural Resources and the Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Centre at UniSA.

The SA Heritage Heroes Awards recognise those volunteers who have made an outstanding contribution to the upkeep of our state's heritage. This is an appropriate way to honour volunteers and their role in our community, conserving heritage for future generations to learn from and enjoy.

The public is encouraged to nominate individuals or groups who have made a significant effort to protect, record and celebrate our heritage. Community groups, individuals, heritage consultants and advisors, local councils, conservation and heritage organisations and government agencies are encouraged to apply. Nominations will be invited in three categories:

Individual Heritage Volunteer Heritage Volunteer Group Youth Heritage Volunteer/Group

More information can be found at

Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature

The Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature are presented every two years during Adelaide Writers’ Week as part of the Adelaide Festival and  include both national and SA-specific prizes and fellowships.

The Premier's Award, worth $25,000 and awarded to the best book from all categories, is one of six national awards on offer. Others are the Children’s Literature Award ($15,000), the Fiction Award ($15,000), the John Bray Poetry Award ($15,000), the Non-Fiction Award ($15,000) and the Young Adult Fiction Award ($15,000).

More information can be found at

Postgraduate Essay Prize in Irish Studies

This is an annual prize awarded for the best essay in Irish Studies by a postgraduate student enrolled at a tertiary institution. The topic can be on any aspect of Irish studies (including the Irish diaspora).

Length: 6-8,000 words with endnotes in the Australian Journal of Irish Studies style.

The successful essay will be published in the next issue of the Australasian Journal of Irish Studies and will receive a monetary prize.

 For details, including application form and information on Australasian Journal of Irish Studies see

Any queries please contact Dr Dianne Hall

The History Council of NSW Max Kelly Medal

The History Council of NSW Max Kelly Medal is now open for submissions. The Max Kelly Medal plus a prize of $500 is awarded annually to a 'beginning' historian for a work of excellence in any aspect of Australian history. The Medal was established as a tribute to Associate Professor Maxwell John Kelly (1935-1996), the first elected President of the History Council, who died suddenly in 1996.

For a nomination form and more information, visit:

Max Kelly Medal Information



  • Caring for collections and How to Fund It

    Two workshop dates available in September and October 2018

    Read more>>