Membership application form

Who we are

The History Council of South Australia Inc (HCSA) speaks on behalf of all history and heritage issues not only South Australian or Australian history, although that is the main interest of many member organisations.

HCSA has a key advocacy role and is able to represent and support its members by advocating to government and government agencies and through the media. We celebrate and raise the profile of history by publishing articles and letters, hosting forums and lectures and presenting Historian of the Year Awards. Distinguished speakers are invited to present the HCSA’s Annual Lecture. In recent years this has been held in a regional centre as well as in Adelaide. The Awards honour the achievements of several South Australian historians annually.

We share information and support the events and news of our member organisations by publicising them on our website, in newsletters and via social media.

HCSA is associated with a wide range of organisations and networks through its members, particularly Committee members who are closely linked to key organisations, as well as via the events it organises or participates in. These history events include History SA's 'About time' month and the State History Conference, talks, walks and shows co-presented with libraries, universities and history groups, and sending a delegate to the annual meeting of state History Councils at the Australian Historical Association's conference.


  • History Council of SA 2017 Awards Nominations

    26 April nominations due for the History Council of SA's 2017 awards.

    Read more>>
  • South Australian History Awards 2017

    31 May 2017

    Read more>>
  • Camels, cockerels and governors. Thinking with the photographs of EL Mitchell.

    Illustrated talk by Dr Joanna Sassoon
    Date and time: Monday 27 March 10.30-11.30
    Where: Hetzel Lecture Theatre, State Library SA
    Cost: Free

    Read more>>
  • Nominations for Wakefield Companion to SA History Essay Prize

    Nominations must be received by 5pm Friday 15 December 2017.

    Read more>>