Membership application form


The History Council of South Australia (HCSA) speaks for history in this state.  We are the peak body in South Australia, providing a representative voice on historical issues, celebrating and raising the profile of history in South Australia. Incorporated in 2003, HCSA evolved from an informal 'History Alliance' initiated by the History Teachers Association of SA in the mid-1990s. Our organisation members include the main bodies concerned with history in this state and many regional historical societies; there is also provision for individual membership.



Join us on the 10 May for a workshop on Digital tools and methods for the adventurous historian presented by Tim Sherratt.

The workshop is free for members and $30 for non-members.  To find out how to join the HCSA visit our page 'How to Join'.

To find out more and how to book visit our 'Featured events' page


Consider nominating a person for one of our History Awards.  Nominations close 5pm Tuesday 31 May 2016.  See our South Australian History Awards page.


Vale John Bannon, past President of the History Council of South Australia

Congratulations to our 2015 Wakefield Prize winner:

Rachel Harris from the University of Adelaide.

Rachel's essay is titled South Australia's wartime economy and women's welfare in conflict : the experiences of female munition workers and members of the Australian Women's Land Army in SA, 1940-1945

Congratulations to our 2015 South Australian History Award winners:

South Australian Life-long History Achievement Award:  Mr Tom Gara and Mr Graham Jaunay

South Australian Historian of the Year - Mr Peter Donovan

South Australian Regional History Award - Mr John Mannion

Emerging South Australian Historian of the Year - Ms Carly Osborn


These annual awards honour the achievements of South Australian historians. Three awards and an essay prize recognise individuals for outstanding research and scholarship and acknowledge their broader contribution through teaching, leadership, mentoring and community involvement.




  • 10 May Workshop : Digital tools and methods for the adventurous Historian

    3 hour workshop presented by Tim Sherratt

    Read more>>
  • 14 July Annual Lecture: The Encounters exhibition - the view from the inside

    Dr Ian Coates, Head of Collections Development at the National Museum and co-Lead Curator of Encounters, will recount some of the stories behind the making of the exhibition and its legacies for the future.

    Read more>>
  • History Council of SA 2016 Awards Nominations

    31 May nominations due for the History Council of SA's 2016 awards.

    Read more>>
  • South Australian History Awards 2016

    3 August 2016 Invitation only

    Read more>>